Tea Bites

Tea Bread
Teabread & a cup of Keemun tea

Tea is IMPORTANT in my life.  I LOVE the stuff.  If I was ever  plonked on a deserted island through no fault of my own, then my one wish would be that I would find tea growing on it.  I reckon I know just enough about the processing of the leaves that I could probably make a  plausible drink out of it.  If I had a second wish it would be that I would have some milk too and third wish would be a decent cup… oh and the fourth would be a kettle, then a teapot and…….some matches, perhaps, to light a fire and a comfy chair and……

…..back to the Tea Bite.  It is Teabread, today, folks.  That is a delightful bit of sweetness with a whole pot of tea mixed into it.  It was just ordinary, everyday tea, mixed with dried fruits, cherries, sugar, flour etc.  Just the usual stuff.  My dilemma was what sort of tea should I drink with it.  I know  people who enjoy their tea so much that they do not want to taint their palate, else they could not fully enjoy the delicate nuances of the tea.  Ah that my palate should be that delicate.  I do, however, appreciate tea.  I love many different teas.  I would dare to suggest that I am an afficionado of tea.  And I also like to enjoy something, sometimes with my tea.  A little taste of something else that compliments the tea.  With this teabread, I decided, it would need it to be something with a definite character;  something that could stand on its own, have an opinion, have a fight even.  Ah, said my tastebud memories.  Try a Keemun.  So I did.  Absolutely perfect.

So make this teabread, get yourself some Keemun tea, sit back and enjoy.

Ingredients:

275g raisins

75g glace cherries, halved.

75g caster sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1 heaped tsp mixed spice

270g self raising flour

1 rounded tsp  baking powder

425ml hot tea

Method:

Place raisins in large bowl.  Pour over the hot tea, cover and leave overnight.

Next day, add the cherries, sugar and spice to the bowl and stir well.

Add the eggs.

Sift the flour and baking powder, add to the mix and stir well until everything is incorporated.

Place mix in a greased 2lb loaf tin.

Bake at 150 C for 1 1/2 hours.

Allow to cool in tin for 5 mins then turn onto wire rack.

Leave a Reply

